belliesvsbedsheets

A DIY mommy with kids who love to get dirty.

Kitchen Part 2

on January 19, 2012

So you should read Part 1 if you haven’t already because I’m going to just pick right back up where I left you.   My beautiful lowers were primed and installed and my walls were painted (at least in the spots that the cabinets were going).

Friday the guys were back at it.  Their goal was to get all the cabinetry installed before the rest of our family showed up for Christmas.  Before you could say boo, the uppers were sitting outside awaiting their priming.   We also decided to go ahead and paint the lowers as quickly as possible since I didn’t want to put stuff on them until they were actually ready for it.

There was a moment before the uppers went in and as we were painting the lowers that I looked at my sister and said, ‘does this look like a kids preschool?’   She hemmed and hawed and told me we needed to wait till the paint dried before we decided.  The next morning (after we agreed that we actually liked the green and grey) she told me that she really had thought -yep, looks like a kids room.  I’m so glad she choose to wait before telling me that.

The guys had the uppers in before we knew it.

The vent-a-hood took a full day of measuring and cutting every piece just right.  When it went in, I fell in love with it.   At one point we had talked about doing stainless appliances and the big stainless hood vent but we ended up doing white appliances.  I knew I wanted a stand-alone hood so this is what the guys came up with.

I’ll show you the coolest part of it in a second.

Here is the view of the other side of the fridge.

It was amazing to get to this point.  Every morning I’d walk into my kitchen amazed at the transformation.   While the guys were getting all this done the girls and I were trying to stay one step ahead on the painting.  You can see in the above picture that we had a few ceiling holes to patch as well as different paint colors to try.  The color I had chosen and had mixed turned out WAY too tan so I saved that for another room and went back to the drawing board.  The hardest part about the ‘low’ ceiling is that it continues into the family room so I needed something that worked with the greens in the kitchen and would also work with the family room (and I STILL am not completely decided on those colors).   We ended up with an off-white called sandstone.   I love it-the High Gloss Bright White trim looks sharp next to it but it is so clean and bright by itself that it really lighted the space. But, I’m getting ahead of myself.

The guys still had the pantry and the island to build.  I put in a request for the island to be next as I was VERY excited to get my sink in.  WooHoo an island! Complete with my dodo bird brothers (Love you boys)!

Here is the plumbing that was all alone in this room when we moved in, now surrounded by BEAUTIFUL cabinets!

And notice that Vent-a-hood?  Ready for my favorite part?

It’s a Spice Cabinet!!!!   This was one of those ‘custom’ things Matt is a master at and wow- I LOVE it!

I’ll be back soon with the Pantry, Broom Closet, Crown and Trim.

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

Nic and Jacelyn

The Dynamic Davidson Duo

Beverly and the Onobasulu

Where would you be without God's Word in your heart language?

Debtor to Grace

O to grace how great a debtor daily I'm constrained to be!

